Difference between start and a freelancer account

Hello

What is a difference between start and a freelancer account ? I am director of Limited Company in UK, can I use freelancer account for my company?

Thank you
Mark

1 Like

I would also like to know this, and how I change my account type to Freelancer. I am also a freelancer trading as a ltd company, and only signed up for the Start account as there was no account type below that for freelancers.

I’ve been waiting to see if you readjusted your pricing so it’s great news if I can change to Freelancer rather than potentially find a new banking provider.

Hi there @stunt125 and @joshuathorley

Thanks for your messages.
If you have a registered company you won’t be able to use a freelancer account for this company, I am afraid, as it is specifically designed for freelancers. If you have any business activity as a freelancer, you can create an account as a freelancer even if you have the company account already. However, this will be a separate account.

@joshuathorley could you please get in touch with our business dedicated support regarding this matter? You can do it by dropping us a message on the business website.

Best
Oleksii

Hi,

I have the similar problem, I had to start an “one-man” ltd company as a sole employee. However, I have only private account with Revolut, and a business one elsewhere - am I allowed to start a freelance account with Revolut then?

Regards,

Vedran

@Sprle yes, you are allowed to do that.

So this is confusing. Can you, or can you not, open a freelancer account if you have a limited company that you use as a one-man-band freelancer? I don’t want to be a sole trader, but want to freelance through a VAT-registered LTD in the UK.

apparently a one-man-ltd does qualify for the £6.99 freelancer account…I would say you should try and see :wink: if there is a problem you will be told during the onboarding process anyway.

please keep us posted.