"card number not supported by the system" error message

Hi, I’m new to Revolut and off to a shaky start… tried to make my first online purchase today and the website rejected the card number saying it was “not supported by the system”. What on earth does that mean? 2+ hrs refreshing my phone so I can chat to an agent through the app (why can’t we chat on a computer?) and I’ve not had any response yet and am starting to question ever signing up for this thing.

Has anyone else experienced problems buying items online? Or can explain what this error message is? Is this likley to be a recurring problem with my Revolut card?

Thanks

If that website sells online with 3D secure mandatory, then it won’t work…

Thanks Iskender - is 3D secure like Verified by Visa and the like? So essentially the Revolut card doesn’t work on any online sites that have Verified by Visa (which seems to be most these days!)

Not so. Verified by visa means the website is secure and verified.

3D secure is a 2 factor Authenticator for payments… you know when you pay, receive a SMS with a code and you need that to proceed the payment.

Well. Revolut does not support yet this and there are a few websites (not many) which requires this as mandatory so if the card doesn’t has it, can’t be used…

Oh ok, then that doesn’t sound like it’s the cause of the problem. I ended up paying with another card and didn’t have to enter any sms codes.

Thanks for your help though!

So just to update, in case anyone else has this problem, have finally got through to an agent on the app’s chat feature and they have confirmed that my problem is related to Revolut’s non-compatibility with 3DS Secure, and that Verified by Visa/Mastercard Secure Code are forms of 3DS Secure.