Revolut in Singapore and Bali – Short summary

Hi :r: community,
I already shared some in another thread: Using VISA in Bali

I just wanted to give some more info on my experience.

Firstly, of course Singapore is very different from Bali – yet both are very popular destinations for European tourists. Singapore is one of the most modern cities i’ve visited. As I expected there is nothing to worry about when visiting that place with your :r: card. In my case it was a Mastercard. Also I have a feeling that Mastercard is spread much wider in both destinations.

Bali is much different. Even though they say cash is king you can pay almost anywhere with Mastercard (Visa, too, most likely). The economy in Bali is focusing on tourists’ needs – including easy payment.

However, withdrawing cash can be challenging with the :r: card. (It wasn’t with my German ING Visa – with 1.75% fees and a rate most likely not as good as interbank rates). So use :r: but watch out for the right ATMs. :smile:

Generally: ATMs with the Link logo did not work (see images).

All of the above did not accept my :r: Mastercard.

I successfully withdrew at the below one in Tanah Lot multiple times:

Again: This is always about withdrawing cash.
From my experience – if you do not insist on eating at a small warung at the street in the mountains – you can pay with your :r: card anywhere. I’d like to know if you have different experiences. @Haribol11 already shared some.

Note: at Bali Collection in Nusa Dua, I first had trouble finding an ATM to withdraw cash but there are min. 2 places with 3 ATMs from different providers at each place. One – I think a Chinese one – wanted to charge fees; I cancelled. The ATM next to it accepted my :r: card. :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Thanks for info. Does ppl in Bali expect tips?

Well, they wouldn’t ask for a tip but you’ll see when they expected one. :slight_smile: