Revolut article in WIRED today - not good PR!

Revolut insiders reveal the human cost of a fintech unicorn’s wild rise

4 Likes

Sounds a tough place to work.

Primarily, it starts with their CEO Nikolay [Storonsky] being very vocal about their mentality, that if you do a 9-5 [workday] it won’t work out

It is far more effective to measure workers on their output, not on their input (number of hours spent in the office). Some people work efficiently with excellent time management and can achieve in a 5-hour day what the next worker will achieve in a 10-hour day. Measuring the hours spent in the office rewards the inefficient worker and doesn’t reward the efficient worker.

I work in the same industry, and I see plenty of people who work inefficiently, spending a disproportionate amount of time on time-consuming tasks with little benefit, and they work 10-hour days being unproductive.

On the only occasion that I’ve visited Revolut’s offices, there seemed to be plenty of workers hanging around who were not participating in the evening event, but doing very little and giving the impression that they couldn’t go home for fear of creating a bad impression to management.

I notice that Revolut advertises “Free dinners with Deliveroo” on all its job adverts, which suggests that working in the evening is the norm, not the exception.

7 Likes

Great comment, NFH. I was going to add something along the same lines but you’ve summed it up perfectly.

It does seem odd that this far into the 21st century, employees are still judged primarily on input rather than output. I know that for some jobs it’s hard to define exactly what ‘output’ would constitute and for others (e.g. software development) you could end up with bogus metrics that actually make the output worse (e.g. #lines of code produced). Having said that, I still think that presenteeism is the predominant attitude in most white collar workplaces and I don’t see this changing any time soon.