I am no longer traveling, how can I keep using Revolut as my #1 bank in NL?

I have been using Revolut for quite some time now. I live in NL, where MasterCards are not as widely accepted as Maestro. I am barely using Revolut now simply because my grocery store, cafetaria, gym etc only accept Maestro.

For that reason Revolut has decided to give new Dutch users a Maestro card by default when they sign up now.

Pretty smart, but when I joined Revolut (as a Dutch person) this was not the case. I have a Mastercard.

Luckily, the end date on my Mastercard (as ‘free user’) is 08/19, which means I am up for renewal!

2 questions:

1. Is it possible to receive a Maestro card now instead of renewing my Mastercard?
  2. Is it possible to receive the Maestro card and a renewed Mastercard in 1 shipping?

I am asking this because if both are not possible, I have to pay €13 for a Maestro card. Which seems excessive. If it was a Mastercard, OK I am willing to pay for that but a Maestro is a much cheaper type of card with lower costs! Paying the same price (€6) for it as for an extra MasterCard plus shipping (€6) does not make much sense to me.

I hope Revolut can help me. I have already pushed 6 people to join Revolut (over the past 6 months) which they did.

I contacted support 2 times to explain this and even though both times I had a live agent, they only wrote default standard FAQ answers back that did not had much to do with my questions.

If you’re a Dutch users you should be able to order a Maestro card through the app. If you’re not given the option, I’d suggest you open up a chat and ask them to place an order for you. In regards to the fees for a new card, I won’t be able to answer that as that is the choice of Revolut.

Explain to them that new users are now given a Mastro card, which you’re not. Ask if they can replace your MasterCard with a Maestro free of charge. If they do, you could go order another MasterCard after that.

2 Likes