Dynamic Conversion between Currencies

Hey all. I am still new to Revolut and there might be something i have misunderstood. If so, let me know.

I have a virtual revolut card I added to AirBNB with success. I had to make a payment for 180.01usd. So i topped up my account with some money and exchanged 180usd. At this point i had about 200dkk as one currency and 180usd as another. When i clicked “Pay” on airbnb it was declined. I then proceeded to exchange so i had 181usd in total. This time the payment went through.

Why didn’t it just empty the usd for 180usd and then auto exchange 1cent from my dkk currency?

Hi Henry!

From the FAQ:

You need to have sufficient funds in one single balance in order to make a transaction. If you don’t have enough funds in the balance of the local currency, it will default to your next largest balance and so on.

As I understand it, you had two balances: 180.00 USD and 200.00 DKK (around 33 USD), which explains why your 180.01 USD payment didn’t go through.
I agree with you though, ideally it should just take the money from another currency and do the payment… maybe one day :slight_smile:

You need to have sufficient funds in one single balance in order to make a transaction. If you don’t have enough funds in the balance of the local currency, it will default to your next largest balance and so on.

Okay. I can see how that makes sense from a technical perspective. But it comes at some loss to the customers. Lets say i am buying something for 201USD and have 199USD in my account but 2 LTC, then it would deduct the whole 200usd from my LTC which is never what i want.

So i hope that you will implement it differently at some point like. Empty the currency from the USD account and then the rest from my base currency. And if both does not have enough coverage then decline.

Not really because you can deactivate the pocket to prevent any transactions from going through your crypto wallet.