Disabling Revolut.me (potentially illegal in Finland)

I would like to disable payments through revolut.me.

Finland has very strict money collection laws, when nothing is given in return as it always needs a permit that cannot be granted to private individuals so I think the feature is illegal and the Revolut tags may be easy to guess.

https://poliisi.fi/en/crowdfunding-and-money-collection-campaigns

The last question in the page can be interpreted that it would be fine if people residing in Finland were blocked from Finnish revolut.me links, but I am not a lawyer.

I contacted support through the app and was told that my only option would be to close my account and that they cannot open a feature request, so I hope I can do it this way.

I don’t want to close my Revolut account as I am otherwise happy with the plus plan and I don’t know where I would get equivalent or better payment services.

1 Like

I am not a lawyer, and I also don’t know anything in particular about the law in Finland. But I am going to share my thoughts nevertheless. I think it’s an interesting question. :grinning:

First, the T&Cs of Revolut make it clear that any business transaction is a violation of the T&Cs.

I don’t see the payment link feature as a fundraising feature. Sure, fundraising is a plausible use case, but any account number can be used for fundraising. If I am reading the Finnish website correctly, the fundraising itself is the problem, not the method. If I would publish my account no. and ask for donations, I would violate the law.

I think of the payment link as a P2P payment method. Similar to Paypal. You’re going on a trip with friends, you’re splitting the bill for the house or a dinner. And then you’ve got a couple of options with Revolut to settle this. Regular bank transfer, or a direct P2P transfer if the other person also uses Revolut, or the link. The link basically facilitates a personal money transfer, not necessarily a fundraising effort or donation.