Day Trade limit

I’m a metal user o I should have infinite trades on my stocks… today I ran into a problem… I was playing with some stocks and it says that I’ve reached my daily limit of trades… well while it makes sense since I can’t buy and sell the same stock more than three times each day …what about a totally different stock that I’m buying for the first time that day?
Example: I messed up with virgin galactic and I did more trades here than I should
but then I bought some alphabet and wanted to sell them later for profit and there a pop-up screen warn me that I’m running out of “trading moves”
I do think I misunderstood how does day trade work… can somebody help me?

Maybe

I am new to stock trading and knows nothing about PDT rules. As a metal member, I assumed I am able to trade freely. Today I got ban for 90 days as I have violated the PDT rules. Now I have no use for the plan since I can’t trade for the next 90 days. Waste of £120.00. This is a warning to new trader, don’t make the same mistake I’ve make.

1 Like

it’s still not super clear… It seems like I cant buy and sell the same stock on the same day more than 3 times in a week… one question for example would be how is counted the day trade if, for example, I buy a stock a 2$ then another one a 1.8$ (of the same stock) and decide to sell them both when they rise to 3$ on the same day?

You can buy how many you want in the same day, but if you sell in the same day is considered a day trade and PDT rules allow only 3 trades, and is taking couple of days to cool down.
But if you hold your position overnight, the transaction is no longer considered a day trade.

2 Likes

FINRA prohibits day trading unless the trader has $25,000 or more in their trading account.